Is this any good, or is it garbage? I have no clue.

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
ScrabbleChamp

Is this any good, or is it garbage? I have no clue.

Postby ScrabbleChamp » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:49 am

This is for CU-Boulder, obviously. I have edited the first draft and re-posted the new copy here. Please let me know if this attempt is any good.

For better or worse, I have had a great deal of experiences in my life that have been formative. I was orphaned at age 6 when my mother was killed by a drunk driver; my father died before I was born. I was raised by my grandmother, who neither wanted nor expected to raise me, in a low-income household. I am a proud veteran that served in the United States Marine Corps and was honorably discharged due to an injury for which I have had several surgeries since. All of these experiences have had a profound effect on me. The most profound experience, however, was becoming a father. Becoming a father has helped bring clarity to my goals and has given me the extra motivating force I need to pursue my dreams.
When I was single and had no children, my life was all about me and what I wanted to do. Of course, when you ask a single man what he wants out of life, the response is almost unequivocally short-sighted and often times ridiculous. I had grandiose ideas of what I was going to do later in life, but I never thought about how to bring to fruition those ideas and I am pretty sure I did not care, either. I was blissfully ignorant and loving every minute of it. I would hear stories of social injustice on the news that would bother me, but then I would realize I was late for a hiking trip and I would forget all about them. Then, I got married and had kids.