Overcoming the odds Topic-- Your thoughts

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Archiel1979

Overcoming the odds Topic-- Your thoughts

Postby Archiel1979 » Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:42 pm

Background
Age 30-35
3.3 GPA B.A. Education
Military Vet, Former high school teacher and air traffic controller
Projected December LSAT 154-159 (my ptest range)

I don't want post my statement here as I am really pouring my heart out in it. However, I wanted to get an Idea of what you guys and gals think of the topic.

The topic: (outline)
I made the biggest mistake of my life and dropped out of high school.
I served honorably in the military.
I adopted my son.
I realized an education was important and I needed to be an example to my son.
I went back to school an earned a degree in education.
I taught high school civics.
I was one of a select few w/o atc experience that was hired by the government as an air traffic controller. Demanding academy and job. I worked as a controller at an International airport control tower.
It was all made possible by realizing how important an education is and overcoming my own fears.
I did it for my family.
The adoption process (of my son) has lead me to aspirations of being an attorney. I want to work in family law.

What do you think?

bklynav

Re: Overcoming the odds Topic-- Your thoughts

Postby bklynav » Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:00 pm

That doesn't sound like a personal statement; it sounds more like a novel. :)

You have a lot of of unique material that's sure to make a strong impression. I think your hardest challenge will be to find a way to include the important information in only two pages and have it read like a personal story instead of a list of accomplishments. If you can do that, you'll have an outstanding statement.

vanwinkle

Postby vanwinkle » Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:07 pm