Very rough personal statement any advice would help!!

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
danileigh43

Very rough personal statement any advice would help!!

Postby danileigh43 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:14 pm

This is my first attempt. Let me know if the topic is even worth sticking with. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Watching my former teammate compete in the 2008 Beijing Olympics in the one event that I hated made me realize how much gymnastics taught me. Ironically, the only event she competed in for team finals was vault. This event proved to be one of my biggest fears during my years competing in gymnastics. However, it had not always been this way. Unlike many other sports, in order to be successful, one almost always has to start at an extremely young age. In my case, I was 3 years old. It also requires a drive and a passion that is hard to come by. Not many sports make you have brushes with death because your timing was a split second off. In fact, who on Earth would ever want to run full speed towards a stationary object, expect to some how mount it and flip off? This was a conversation I had with myself repeatedly as I realized my talent for the event that I was so fearful of. Every gymnast has fears. It is the strength to overcome them, along with hard work that makes a good gymnast.