deleted

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
fatduck

deleted

Postby fatduck » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:26 pm

deleted
Last edited by fatduck on Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sandro

Re: Academic probation, somewhat unusual circumstances

Postby Sandro » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:42 pm

cut out the unnecessary details, it loses the reader. If you are explaining 2 semesters of F's just say what happened briefly, why, and the end. No need to talk about your parents objecting, your confidence levels etc.

inchoate_con

Postby inchoate_con » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:44 pm

I'm far from an expert, but you rattle off a lot of negatives and "I decided to take drastic action and enlisted in the Army" is the only positive.

At least explain how the military taught you about commitment, responsibility, or punctuality.

fatduck

Postby fatduck » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:02 pm

Thanks for the replies! A revised version follows.

inchoate_con: I am also writing a paragraph to answer the "has your schooling ever been interrupted for any reason?" question, where I intend to explain in more detail why I chose to interrupt my education by enlisting in the Army, and how I feel it benefited me. It seems (to me) like that discussion is more appropriate for that question, and I don't want to repeat myself.