Anyone take a unique approach to a personal statement Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
awilson11

Bronze

Anyone take a unique approach to a personal statement

Post by awilson11 » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:21 pm

My whole life, I have been a good writer, and have developed a distinct voice that emerges when I write confidently. When I write, I strive for this voice. Writing my personal statement has proved a challenge for me to get this across. I started writing about my experience working for a DC non profit and underprivileged middle school students. However, this is not something that significantly influenced my interest in law school, nor is public service something I plan on pursuing. I got some sudden inspiration the other day, and tried to write an intro paragraph based on it. A whole statement came out that I like and has my voice. I essentially made an analogy between the development of a talented pitcher (putting together his pitches into a whole better than the parts) to my path to law school, and related it back to sports law. I was able to talk about all of the things I want to highlight about myself without sounding insincere (which is what my original statements felt to me). I am getting advice from some application consultant and lawyer connections, but has anyone else taken a very unique approach to their personal statements?

Any thoughts are welcome

kalvano

Diamond

Re: Anyone take a unique approach to a personal statement

Post by kalvano » Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:11 pm

There's nothing unique about what you described, really. They get thousands of "why I want to go to law school" PS's.

You're way better off with something that talks more about you and that you feel expresses something important than some generic, crappy "why I want to go to law school" essay.

awilson11

Bronze

Post by awilson11 » Wed Oct 20, 2010 5:22 pm