Please Critique final diversity draft- will return favor...

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
noahzak

Please Critique final diversity draft- will return favor...

Postby noahzak » Mon Oct 18, 2010 3:09 pm

When I was in kindergarten, the school principal told my mother I’d have a wonderful career as a translator. She had overheard me talking to my grandmother and a friend’s father, arranging a playdate for myself. My grandmother, who was born in Afghanistan and didn’t speak English, often relied on me for her everyday tasks, from grocery shopping to deciphering the evening news. From a young age, I’ve understood the power of words and how an otherwise intelligent person can be diminished due to their inability to grasp a particular language. Ultimately, my exposure to this phenomenon as a child shaped my future.
After I graduated from college with a degree in journalism and international relations, I worked as a magazine editor, a freelance newspaper writer, a social media expert and a copy editor, applying my degree into developing the career I thought I wanted. It was working for my father, however, that showed me my true talent, and what I need to do with it.
For the past nine years, my father, an Afghan-American businessman, has been taking frequent trips to Afghanistan. In between these journeys, he communicates with officials via email, in English. Despite the fact that he has lived in the United States for almost 25 years, however, my father has elementary knowledge of the language. So, when I moved back home after college with a writing degree, I became his unofficial secretary.