Anyone want to critique my first draft?

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
granato

Anyone want to critique my first draft?

Postby granato » Fri Oct 15, 2010 2:39 pm

A new business casual wardrobe? Check. Stainless steel coffee mug proudly emblazoned with my undergraduate alma mater? Check. Pictures of vacations past to personalize my new cubicle? Check. A youthful feeling of omniscience upon beginning my first post-graduate job? Check. It only took me two weeks to realize how humorously naïve I was.

When I graduated college my circumstances dictated that I find a job for a year until continuing my education. I was immensely ecstatic, and fortunate, to learn I had been hired to be a member of the legal team of a Fortune 500 medical devices company. My job as an intellectual property analyst would be to help free up the attorney’s time by searching patent databases, thoroughly reading and comparing patents and patent applications, and writing legal memorandums and briefs about my research. “No problem,” I thought. I chose History as my major because I enjoyed research and writing. I spent the first two weeks learning the absolute basics of the patent system and legal writing. The attorney was pleased enough with my progress to inflate my ego.