First draft of PS

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
therandom9

First draft of PS

Postby therandom9 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:21 pm

Hey, this is my current personal statement. If you look it over and have a PS of your own you want feedback on, post a link or PM me and I'll check it out.

Code: Select all

At all times in life, I have a label for myself in my head.  If I’m doing well in school, I’m analytical.  When my life was devoted to track, I was an athlete.  Working in education, I’m a teacher.  But it was only when I gave up trying to find the right label that I was finally free to pursue law, the path that lets me combine all my interests.

My love of analysis goes back to my childhood.   I loved taking systems apart and learning as much as I could about them.  At the age of three, I wanted to know how books worked, so I asked my mom what the letters sounded like until I could read.  At the age of 14, I wanted to know how computers worked, so I taught myself to program.  And when I took a year off during college, I decided to teach myself Russian, then tested into fifth-semester Russian when I returned to school.  So I dismantled it, learned its ins and outs, and was speaking fluently a year later.  When I get interested in a topic, it takes over my life, and I don't stop until I understand it.

At the same time I was pursuing these projects, a totally different side of me was at work 3-5 hours each day.  I do not like losing.  When I discovered long-distance running in high school, this drive found an outlet.  I fell in love, both with the hard, monotonous grind, and the thrill of besting my competitors.  Beyond winning, I craved the feeling of running a faster time than I had ever run, of moving up the invisible pecking order of times that all runners are aware of.  For eight years, I cranked out as many miles as my body would allow.