Topic help!

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
piccolittle

Topic help!

Postby piccolittle » Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:33 pm

So it's not as though my background is totally vanilla-- I did go to undergrad in the UK-- but I'm really having trouble thinking of a topic. I never had any obstacles to overcome, have a fairly normal upbringing, and am non-URM.

Also, since I graduated with an LLB, do you think I'll be expected to address my law school experience, or "why law?", despite most applicants being encouraged not to?

Help with weeding out the bad topics?

1) Growing up with horses/working on our family farm/rescuing an ex-racehorse and how that has impacted my character and my interest in working in animal welfare
2) Preparing for and passing the NY Bar (and would it be awful to say something like "I wasn't sure if I wanted to be a lawyer, and I was in the middle of the Bar exam?")
3) Attending school abroad, learning Italian, how an international education shaped my identity as an American (without somehow sounding like those "really special semester abroad" essays)-- also considering submitting this in a DS instead
4) All of the above (and advice on doing that would be extra helpful)

Your vote? Sorry if it seems like a useless thread, but any constructive advice would be great.

Knock

Re: Topic help!

Postby Knock » Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:41 pm

piccolittle wrote:So it's not as though my background is totally vanilla-- I did go to undergrad in the UK-- but I'm really having trouble thinking of a topic. I never had any obstacles to overcome, have a fairly normal upbringing, and am non-URM.

Also, since I graduated with an LLB, do you think I'll be expected to address my law school experience, or "why law?", despite most applicants being encouraged not to?

Help with weeding out the bad topics?