Aren't all of these the same damn essay?

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
username99

Aren't all of these the same damn essay?

Postby username99 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:41 pm

Sorry folks, but don't all of these personal statements sound exactly the same? "As I did something having to do with some wonderful experience, I knew law school was for me." I have some pretty great experience and I'm hoping to write a kick-ass essay, but is it even possible to write something unique when tens of thousands of intelligent people are applying and writing very similar things? I'm sorry if this sounds snarky at all. I'm completely serious with this question. What do you all think?

Knock

Re: Aren't all of these the same damn essay?

Postby Knock » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:47 pm

username99 wrote:Sorry folks, but don't all of these personal statements sound exactly the same? "As I did something having to do with some wonderful experience, I knew law school was for me." I have some pretty great experience and I'm hoping to write a kick-ass essay, but is it even possible to write something unique when tens of thousands of intelligent people are applying and writing very similar things? I'm sorry if this sounds snarky at all. I'm completely serious with this question. What do you all think?

Pretty much.

OrdinarilySkilled

Postby OrdinarilySkilled » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:49 pm

I think you'd be suprised how many people can't string together cohesive sentences.

Knock

Postby Knock » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:50 pm

OrdinarilySkilled wrote:I think you'd be suprised how many people can't string together cohesive sentences.

I'm pretty much counting on it :mrgreen:.

clevinger33

Postby clevinger33 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:52 pm