My PS - radically revised Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
haveaniceday111

New

My PS - radically revised

Post by haveaniceday111 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:35 am

My last PS got (justifiably) ripped apart, so I rethought my whole approach.
The specific accomplishments of my jobs (Peace Corps, law firms, bookstore) are in my resume, which is why I didn't discuss them in depth here.

Let me know what y'all think. I'd really appreciate it!

-----------------------------------------

The most important lessons I teach my students are the same that my parents, teachers, and mentors have taught me: that learning is a life-long process, to always expand and deepen your understanding of the world, and to contribute. These lessons have driven my previous endeavors, and drive my current desire to attend [law school].

By the time I graduated college I had lived and worked in four continents. But two summer experiences shaped me more than any other. When our study-abroad program in Beijing ended, I stayed because I wanted to improve my language skills and deepen my understanding of my heritage. I was also contacting, out of the blue, Chinese law firms for summer internships. My persistence paid off when [law firm] offered me a position. Working with American, Chinese and European lawyers exposed me to a wide variety of cultures and legal backgrounds. The next summer, volunteering in Uganda put me face-to-face with the realities of HIV/AIDS, water-borne diseases and poverty that until then had been confined to Foreign Affairs articles, documentaries and class discussions. I had volunteered in lesser-developed countries in the past, but not as extensively and as intensely as I had in Uganda.

I was galvanized to pursue these interests further. But which one: international humanitarian work in rural countries, or a legal career in urban offices? I grappled with this issue until I realized that they aren’t mutually exclusive. I decided to do both.