Penn 5 year plan, please help

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
dabbadon8

Penn 5 year plan, please help

Postby dabbadon8 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:15 pm

This is my first try at this. I haven't really seen any examples. Let me know what you think. Prompt is "How will your legal education and professional development at Penn Law support your five year plan upon graduation?"

In the five years following graduation I intend to pursue a career in public interest that will allow me to utilize my background in psychology. As a result of my undergraduate studies and my internship experience, I have become especially interested in mental health law. I hope to start my career with a non-profit organization, such as the Bazelon Center, that specializes in mental health advocacy through policy and litigation. Penn offers a distinctive collection of programs and opportunities that will support my career and life goals.

I believe that studying under professors Stephen Morse and Anita Allen, preeminent scholars in psychology, law, and mental health law in particular, would provide me skills and experience that would be invaluable assets in achieving a career that involves multiple areas expertise. In addition, Penn’s cross-disciplinary approach is a perfect fit for my career goals. The health law program and the ability to earn Certificate of Study in Cross-Sector Innovation are particularly advantageous to my five-year plan.