Personal Statement too risky? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

Personal Statement too risky?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:16 am

I know this is under legal employment topic, but im new to tls and i coudlnt figure out how to do an anonymous post to the law school personal statement topic, so anyways here's my question for you all....

I was wondering what people think about writing a very “personal” personal statement, or if it is too risky. I’d be writing about childhood sexual abuse and also a death of a close friend, and how these two incidents made me re-evaluate my life, fuelled my drive for law/justice etc. do you think that might be too personal to talk about in a personal statement?

I'd make it a point to explain how im not looking for a pity party, but just want to tell them the hardships i have survived though and how that has made me who i am today

Anonymous User

Re: Personal Statement too risky?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:23 am

So sorry you had to go through all that, but I wouldn't write about any sexual abuse. The death of a friend sounds ok as a topic, but abuse is probably a bit much.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:44 am

http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/v ... 8&t=105035

Some more opinions. Hope that helps a bit.

Bosque

Gold

Post by Bosque » Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:59 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I know this is under legal employment topic, but im new to tls and i coudlnt figure out how to do an anonymous post to the law school personal statement topic
That is because you cannot. The anonymous feature is there to protect people talking about their jobs (because a lot of employers don't like you talking about your jobs, and because it is much easier to "Out" someone when you know where they work.)