First Draft of a PS

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Nulli Secundus

First Draft of a PS

Postby Nulli Secundus » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:45 am

Ok here is the first draft I prepared in a limited time, I am just taking first opinions, this is not intended to be anywhere near the final product so flame less and advice more, thanks in advance. (I am especially unsure about 4th paragraph)

I work as an auditor at Turkish Court of Accounts (TCA), Supreme Audit Institution of Turkey and equivalent of Government Accountability Office (GAO) of the US, at least in theory. Since TCA is organized as a Court, my job description closely resembles that of a prosecutor. I perform audits on accounts of government entities, check whether transactions were made and financial statements were prepared according to applicable regulations, prepare reports including the defense statements of responsible government officials and submit these to be tried at the Chambers within TCA, with appeals possible also within TCA.

I attended two international audit conferences on the audit of Joint Strike Fighter Project as the representative of Turkish Court of Accounts and I took part in the organization of the 2011 Conference in Turkey. F-35 is, according to GAO, US DoD’s most costly and ambitious aircraft acquisition with an estimated investment amount (at the time of GAO report) of $323 billion for the US and $9 billion for Turkey. During the conferences, via presentations, I shared the current status of JSF Project in Turkey and where TCA is at regarding the audit of the project.