HELP..CRITIQUE MY GPA ADDENDUM

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
HOPINGFORLAW10

HELP..CRITIQUE MY GPA ADDENDUM

Postby HOPINGFORLAW10 » Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:39 pm

I'm new to TLS. Looking for honest critiques on how to improve my GPA addendum. Here it is:

To Whom It May Concern:

I do not believe that my UGPA of 2.XX from XXX University is truly indicative of my ability to succeed in law school at XXX University. During my first semester in college, I struggled to make a transition from high school to a large private school. I ended my freshman semester on Academic Probation with a cumulative and semester GPA of XXX. While the fact that I initially found it difficult to transition from high school to a large university is not sufficient to explain why my present GPA is a 2.XX, I do believe that it is worth noting several difficult courses where my true academic abilities are reflected. Courses such as Abnormal Psychology and Math for Liberal Arts confirm my academic potential to succeed in difficult courses with difficult professors. My overall GPA is surely a testimony to the fact that I spent over forty hours per week working to pay off several expenses including student loans. I also had the responsibility of driving to and from school every day to pick up my younger brother to care for him throughout the day. Doing so, put a great strain on my academic coursework. I am sure that the grades in my many of my courses are not representative of my ability to do well in law school. The upward trend in my LSAT score is a better indicator of my true potential and ability to succeed in law school and beyond.

vanwinkle

Re: HELP..CRITIQUE MY GPA ADDENDUM

Postby vanwinkle » Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:42 pm

Half of the sentences in this say in either a direct or implied manner, "My GPA is not indicative of my academic ability." This does not help at all.