GPA Addendum...8 years out of school, splitter

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
placencia

GPA Addendum...8 years out of school, splitter

Postby placencia » Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:25 am

Okay, so I know the general stance on addenda is the unless you have a very specific reason, they can do more harm than good. If I had a poor GPA and I'm just out of school, then without a valid reason for poor performance, it's useless anyway. My UGPA was 2.76, but I graduated 8 years ago. My LSAT was a 174. The truth is, I had no excuses, I was just academically immature. All of the other aspects I have for submission are stellar. My LORs are excellent, resume and work experience (public school teacher and coach), multiple leadership positions in my extracurriculars, world experience, and I have had my PS reviewed by over a dozen people from various backgrounds, including several lawyers, who have all said it was extremely good.

But the GPA sticks out like a sore thumb. I also know that addenda should be very short in most cases, but in my case, I felt I needed to explain in a little more detail, because I don't have any hard facts to support why I did poorly. There is no excuse. According to the Ivey book, this is one of the few situations where a longer addendum is appropriate. I am trying to explain to the adcomms that I have matured. I know I have, but at the same time, I also know that everyone says that. It's the last piece of the application that I need to submit, if I choose to do so, and I would appreciate some feedback. This is also a first draft.

Thanks in advance.

-----------