Out of School 9 Years, Look and Help! Please!

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )

Out of School 9 Years, Look and Help! Please!

Postby Brac1681 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:21 am

I graduated from the University of Oklahoma in 2000 with a 2.76 GPA. I took the December LSAT and scored a 166. I am applying to the University of Oklahoma and a few other local schools. I would really appreciate some help with my PS. ANY advice would be appreciated. Please Be Kind! thanks!

A New Path
Sitting and waiting in my empty office, it’s after nine in the morning and I am racking my brain trying to remember what time FedEx comes. I decide to go upstairs to get something to drink; one of the mechanics in the shop yells up that FedEx has already been here. How did I miss that? What did he have? Was it a letter or a box? If it was a letter then everything I’ve worked for over the past nine years could be in jeopardy. It can’t be the letter. I just found out Amanda’s pregnant again. Karma wouldn’t give us our third child only to rip away our livelihood a few short weeks later. Among other things, we’d have to sell the house. Law school might be coming back into the picture.
College was a mixed bag for me. I wanted the education that came along with attending class, but it was also the first time in my life I had been completely on my own. Too much freedom led me down the path of fraternity life, football games, drinking, and sleeping too much. In college I felt I had a life waiting for me that didn’t have to be earned. So in turn I felt like I could get by with the bare minimum and that’s what I did. I know now I didn’t take full advantage of the resources and opportunities available to me. Given the chance in law school, that won’t happen again.