Draft #2- Please be brutal!

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
kristina88

Draft #2- Please be brutal!

Postby kristina88 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:42 pm

THANKS
Last edited by kristina88 on Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

kristina88

Re: Draft #2- Please be brutal!

Postby kristina88 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:52 pm

please helpp!!!

justme13

Postby justme13 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 8:22 pm

I'm just applying to law school so I'm no expert but it looks great to me. One thing, in the 6th paragraph you say you are the "soul provider" I believe it is "sole provider" might want to double check. Otherwise it looks good.

scribelaw

Postby scribelaw » Sat Jan 09, 2010 8:39 pm

You have a nice story here!

The one thing is, you lead off with the minority thing, and then that never really ties in with the meat of the essay, which is about your brother's legal troubles and how that affected you. I'd say either find a direct, believable tie-in or skip it altogher. You could save the Puerto Rican angle for a diversity statement.

One other thing, there's some risk to making yourself once removed from your real topic, i.e. your reaction to something that happened to your brother. I really like the ending -- you need more stuff like that, cut down on the long paragraphs about your mom telling you about your brother and focus more on how it affected you, how it drove your desire to attend law school, etc. This has to be about you.

And one small nit -- I cringed when you referred to your brother as a "juvenile delinquet." How about something a little softer, troubled youth or something.

Good luck with your cycle!

dr3dful1

Postby dr3dful1 » Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:54 pm