Low Tuition Schools for Veterans

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
Bruslance

Low Tuition Schools for Veterans

Postby Bruslance » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:29 pm

Hello All,

I am curious as to which schools would offer the lowest tuition for veterans in the T3 and T4 range. I am not a high profile candidate by any means (2.65gpa, guessing around 155 lsat this dec). I know the GI Bill can help if I look for schools that have high resident undergraduate tuition, but I am looking for schools that offer other perks.

My resident state is Iowa so which offers pretty much nothing. Also, I am looking for full-time status. I appreciate all your advice on this topic.

General Tso

Re: Low Tuition Schools for Veterans

Postby General Tso » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:58 pm

I am not sure but I think that in CA veterans might be able to attend a UC for free. Or at least get alot of fees waived

http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/v ... ition.html

jks289

Postby jks289 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:05 pm

swheat wrote:I am not sure but I think that in CA veterans might be able to attend a UC for free. Or at least get alot of fees waived

http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/v ... ition.html

This is accurate, though you'd need to bump your LSAT up at least 10 points to have a shot at Davis or Hastings. Are you URM or up for a retake?

General Tso

Postby General Tso » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:08 pm

I am thinking that if California has a program like this then other states probably do as well.

Just a quick google search showed that Duke has some kind of grant program for veteran law students. I know OP is not in contention for UC's or Duke but there have to be some lower ranked schools that have tuition benefits for vets.

amputatedbrain

Postby amputatedbrain » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:09 pm

I know Univ. of Washington offers a 50% tuition waiver for (combat?) veterans

Bruslance