What's Vandy Worth?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
jumbocolumbo

What's Vandy Worth?

Postby jumbocolumbo » Sun May 17, 2015 10:34 pm

I wasn't sure if I should post this here or in "Choosing a Law School" but I was wondering if I could get some input on how much debt TLSer's would be comfortable taking on to attend Vandy.

I'm a 0L taking the LSAT in June. I've been a TN resident for most of my life (attended UG here), and I would like to stay in TN. I would also like to work at a large firm after law school (mostly because this seems to be the best way to pay off student loans)..

What level of debt would you be willing to take on considering Vandy's employment numbers and why? What factors are the most relevant in play here? Obviously I don't need exact numbers but an approximate cut-off would be nice. Any input is helpful and let me know if there's anything I need to clarify.

ETA: Here are Vandy's employment numbers just to make it easy on those answering: http://law.vanderbilt.edu/2014-EmploymentSummary.pdf
Last edited by jumbocolumbo on Sun May 17, 2015 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BigZuck

Re: What's Vandy Worth?

Postby BigZuck » Sun May 17, 2015 10:40 pm

Probably like 100K. It's a good school but it's not likely that you'll get a high paying job. Then again, chances aren't super remote either. So yeah, around 100K, which is kind of arbitrary but whatever.

I'm not sure "Large firm" and "Tennessee" are words that go great together in a sentence so I'd try to figure out what the backup plan is and make sure the school and cost align with that.