HELOC vs Stafford Unsubsidized/GradPLUS

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
meachum

HELOC vs Stafford Unsubsidized/GradPLUS

Postby meachum » Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:31 pm

Has anyone had experience with using a Home Equity Line of Credit to pay for law school as an alternative to federal loans? I've seen some threads from a few years ago, but I'd imagine you could get a better HELOC interest rate these days. I'm no HELOC expert though, so I'm looking for people who could share any not-so-obvious upsides and downsides.

A clear downside would be disqualifying yourself for LRAP/PAYE programs. Not to mention the added risk of parents losing their home/strained relationship.

A clear upside would be favorable interest rates and origination fees. Also, the loan is dischargeable in bankruptcy and HELOC interest can be tax deductible.

I would appreciate any more insight into this situation.

Thanks!
Last edited by meachum on Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

UndecidedMN

Re: HELOC vs Stafford Unsubsidized/GradPLUS

Postby UndecidedMN » Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:38 pm

First, your parents stress is not worth any cost savings. Also you lose PAYE/IBR option which is invaluable. Take the federal loan.

twenty

Postby twenty » Thu Apr 23, 2015 10:46 pm

A HELOC for law school is absolute insanity. Terrible, terrible idea.

meachum

Postby meachum » Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:22 pm

twenty wrote:A HELOC for law school is absolute insanity. Terrible, terrible idea.

Could you elaborate on this?

UndecidedMN wrote:First, your parents stress is not worth any cost savings. Also you lose PAYE/IBR option which is invaluable. Take the federal loan.