International Students

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
1Lofalawyer

International Students

Postby 1Lofalawyer » Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:35 pm

First time poster! :D

I'm currently in Columbia's Reserve group, and even though I am aware of the fact that getting off Columbia's waitlist is a next-to-none-chance, I still need to be prepared in case I have to pack up and go to NYC.

I'm an international student, and I wanted to know about my options for need-based aid, or getting a high amount of loan in the U.S., seeing that I'm probably going to have to pay sticker.

Any input will be appreciated! Thanks everyone!

Auxilio

Re: International Students

Postby Auxilio » Tue Mar 24, 2015 4:58 pm

Without a US co-signer you will not get any loans from American banks. You will likely qualify for some loans from your home country (depending on what that is) but will again probably need a local co-signer (since you are leaving the country). Do not expect any significant amount of need based aid. Unless your family can loan/give you essentially the full cost of attending (which I doubt since you are looking for significant need based aid) Columbia should essentially be ruled out of contention for you - sorry.

WeeBey

Postby WeeBey » Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:33 pm

Similar situation (Canadian).

Gov't student loans usually max out at 10k a year if your taking the $$ out of the country. The rest is gonna be a line of credit from a Canadian. Im not willing to risk more than 20k a year from that line of credit so the rest will be through merit scholarships.

1Lofalawyer

Postby 1Lofalawyer » Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:13 pm

Yeah I'm in the same boat. The fact that gov loans are going to be at $10,000 max is daunting. Do you know if we'll be able to get a decent LOC to cover sticker at Columbia?

Auxilio

Postby Auxilio » Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:45 pm