Trying to guesstimate scholarship aid.

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
Comma.Split

Trying to guesstimate scholarship aid.

Postby Comma.Split » Sun Mar 08, 2015 5:24 pm

Hey everyone. I am going over some of the ABA 509s to approximate how much financial aid law schools typically give. I would greatly appreciate if you could clarify a few things for me:

1) The form gives you the percentage of students who receive scholarships and grants. For example, for NYU the number is 36%. Does this mean that 64% of the NYU students get a big fat zero (i.e. pay out of pocket/loans)? Am I missing something here? This implies that a bunch of people at/above the medians get nothing.

2) The form also gives you the percentiles for scholarship awards. I am not an expert, but don’t the numbers seem a bit too low? NYU’s 75th percentile is 90K for 3 years. So, essentially 36% of students get aid and out of the 36% only a quarter (9% of the total class) gets 90K+ to attend. Or let’s take Michigan: 73% get aid, and the 75th percentile is 60K (i.e they give around 60K to people above their medians). Long story short, I am being dreamy about a 40%-50% discount at medians? I am pulling these numbers out of my behind, but it seems like a fair deal.

P.S. I do understand that a lot of candidates are splitters and reverse splitters, which could account for the seemingly low offers, but still 60K as the 75th percentile seems a bit too low, doesn’t it?

P.P.S. Full disclosure: I am not a spoiled brat who thinks he deserves to attend a T14 with a full scholarship while at/below the medians. I don’t currently have any scholarship offers -- just trying to kill some time marginally productively. So please don’t hate. Love and peace to everyone.

thatsnotmyname

Re: Trying to guesstimate scholarship aid.

Postby thatsnotmyname » Sun Mar 08, 2015 5:41 pm