High EFC - should I submit for need-based?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
admiringatticus

High EFC - should I submit for need-based?

Postby admiringatticus » Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:05 am

I am getting worried about my FAFSA and needs-based grants. I'm an international student so I'm not going to get any federal aid but I still need to submit the FAFSA to some schools to calculate my federal aid. I put my info and my parents' info into an EFC calculator and it is something like $35,000 but without my parents it is $0.

I don't care if I don't get needs-based grants but I do care if schools are going to decrease my merit aid because of my EFC.

So, basically I have two questions:
1) Should I just submit FAFSA/need access to schools that don't ask for parent info?
2) Does a high EFC impact merit-based offers?

Help please!! :?

milkandcheerios

Re: High EFC - should I submit for need-based?

Postby milkandcheerios » Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:21 am

FWIW I'm in the same position as you and I'm planning to ask to be considered for merit aid only for all the schools I get admitted to except for HYS since they only do need based aid anyways.

crg0097

Postby crg0097 » Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:52 pm

admiringatticus wrote:I am getting worried about my FAFSA and needs-based grants. I'm an international student so I'm not going to get any federal aid but I still need to submit the FAFSA to some schools to calculate my federal aid. I put my info and my parents' info into an EFC calculator and it is something like $35,000 but without my parents it is $0.

I don't care if I don't get needs-based grants but I do care if schools are going to decrease my merit aid because of my EFC.

So, basically I have two questions:
1) Should I just submit FAFSA/need access to schools that don't ask for parent info?
2) Does a high EFC impact merit-based offers?

Help please!! :?