Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
kimkardashian

Postby kimkardashian » Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:48 pm

Last edited by kimkardashian on Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dingo Starr

Re: FAFSA Household Size

Postby Dingo Starr » Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:38 pm

This is all my opinion and should not be construed otherwise. You were warned.
kimkardashian wrote:If l live by myself during the school year (I'm an undergraduate student) but with my mom over summer break, is my household size two? I put down two, but the FAFSA form asked me if I made a mistake b/c I had listed myself as single, so I just wanted to double check that my mother counts as part of my household since her house is my permanent address.

I would put down 2, given the limited information here, but the answer depends on how you fill out the rest of the form. During the school year did you live on campus or off campus? Did your mother or anyone else provide your tuition and/or living expenses during that time?
kimkardashian wrote:Also, my mom still gets a ~$1000 tax break from listing me on her taxes (I'm 21). If she stopped listing me as a dependent, would I be able to put my household size down as one and possibly get more financial aid? And is doing that legal? My roommate's friend from home emancipated herself from her parents at age 17 and got a ridiculous amount of financial aid for undergrad because she listed herself as single with no job.

Is she going to be footing the bill for your law school? If so, you are still a dependent and she is entitled to that tax break.