Poor credit- will I be denied loans for law school?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
theramblingfool

Poor credit- will I be denied loans for law school?

Postby theramblingfool » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:08 pm

My credit is poor, and part of that is student loans I haven't paid on since graduating a year ago (I simply don't have the money to put toward them).

How will this work? Will I be denied student loans, thus preventing me from attending law school?

rinkrat19

Re: Poor credit- will I be denied loans for law school?

Postby rinkrat19 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:12 pm

Are your loans in deferment/forbearance, or are you just ignoring them?

Chriz

Postby Chriz » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:17 pm

Are you on IBR? I have been since I graduated and haven't paid a cent towards my loans.

theramblingfool

Postby theramblingfool » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:23 pm

I don't have a low income, that's not the problem. The problem is being taxed as a single 23 year old, when I'm a single father with a lot of expenses.

rinkrat: I guess I'm "just ignoring them". Although I'm not ignoring them. I'm simply unable to keep up.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:30 pm

theramblingfool wrote:I don't have a low income, that's not the problem. The problem is being taxed as a single 23 year old, when I'm a single father with a lot of expenses.

rinkrat: I guess I'm "just ignoring them". Although I'm not ignoring them. I'm simply unable to keep up.

This seems like a sound financial decision that could not possibly haunt you for years. Well done. Definitely don't investigate other options with your lender.

Gooner91

Postby Gooner91 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:31 pm

rinkrat19 wrote:
theramblingfool wrote:I don't have a low income, that's not the problem. The problem is being taxed as a single 23 year old, when I'm a single father with a lot of expenses.