Private loans- if possible, a better option?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
senorhosh

Private loans- if possible, a better option?

Postby senorhosh » Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:36 am

I'm a little new to this.

Wouldn't private loans, if possible with lower interest rates, be better in the long run?

The downside would be: no gov. support (IBR, LRAP, etc.), hence no PI. You have to pay same amount regardless of your salary.
Upside: dischargeable through bankruptcy

This seems ideal for someone who is taking out large amounts but is biglaw or bust.
Bankruptcy sucks but wouldn't it be a MUCH better alternative to having a large loan balance accrue interest for 20 years until you're hit with a tax bomb?

Hrun

Re: Private loans- if possible, a better option?

Postby Hrun » Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:46 am

I believe both private and government backed student loans are nondischargeable unless you can prove undue hardship. So I don't see any upside to taking out private loans.

A. Nony Mouse

Postby A. Nony Mouse » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:49 am

^This is correct. All educational loans are nondsichargable absent undue hardship, not just government educational loans.

trojandave

Postby trojandave » Tue Jun 25, 2013 9:43 pm

Hrun wrote:I believe both private and government backed student loans are nondischargeable unless you can prove undue hardship. So I don't see any upside to taking out private loans.