Private Loans Direct to Student?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
JerichoJohnny

Private Loans Direct to Student?

Postby JerichoJohnny » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:04 pm

This kind of ties into the post that OscarVeal posted, but I thought I would make my own topic.

I am a current student at a Tier 1 law school. I am wondering what any of you know about supplemental private loans that can be paid directly to the student.

I budgeted poorly this year, both due to my rental cost being too high (and planning on a greater contribution from my partner than was possible) and also because I did not account for an extra class being required of me during one of my semesters.

In any case, I am looking at a serious budget shortfall, and can expect to be in serious trouble about 3 months before next year's money will be coming in. Obviously the issue of going to law school at all, and certainly taking out even MORE money are serious issues. As it is, my principal question are about the private loans that are marketed towards law students.

I have examined several lenders, including Discover and Wells Fargo. Both seem to figure in the COA (I have already borrowed the max in federal loans) and also supply the money directly to the school. My first impression is that this type of private loan would not work for me. I have an "ok" credit score with almost 15 years of solid credit history. If I was employed I should think I would have no problem securing some sort of loan, but as a student with no credit-worthy cosigner, I think I will run into some problems.

What sort of loan would work for me in this situation? Is there a private lender that can cut me a check and whose interest rate will be closer to the prime rate than say, a company like WesternSky ("Yes it's expensive, but you need it!") would offer?

cinephile

Re: Private Loans Direct to Student?