Proofread my Scholarship Negotiation Please?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
LegalNugget

New

Proofread my Scholarship Negotiation Please?

Postby LegalNugget » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:36 pm

This is my first attempt at negotiating scholarship. Any advice/input would be greatly appreciated. ####= the school im applying to.

I was extremely honored to see that I received the Dean's Merit-Based Scholarship. The offer is greatly appreciated and not taken lightly.

I however am writing this to discuss the possibility of dropping the stipulation I have attached to my award which requires I maintain top 50% class ranking. Although this sounds very doable given the amount of effort I plan on putting forth, I still have certain reservations.

For one, Law School is obviously an unpredictable experience. As confident as I may be, it would be foolish to assume success with absolute certainty . Also, I have heard all the horror stories of class stacking and subsequently large numbers of scholarship holders losing their money. I am in no way insinuating this happens at ####, just that I have heard of its existence in general.

I have also been admitted to xxx, yyyy and zzzz law as well. I have calculated that If I were to lose my scholarship at #### following year one, the following two years would be nearly the same in price as xxx would be for all three years. yyy has offered me a total scholarship of $20,000 with no stipulation. zzzz has offered a total scholarship of $81,000 with a similar stipulation (top 1/3). Although #### ranks highest in its own right in many fields, the other schools are in general more nationally recognized.