Outside scholarships Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
thecactus

New

Outside scholarships

Post by thecactus » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:52 pm

I was wondering if anybody had any experiences applying to outside scholarships (that don't come from the government or the school itself). I applied to a few when I was an undergrad and received a small amount of money. Has anyone been fairly successful (let's say, received over $3000 for a school year) applying to these outside scholarships for law school? It seems like a lot of hassle (a lot of essay writing, recommendation letters, etc.), and I was wondering if it's worth it to dedicate a significant amount of time to this. Also, I'm a little wary of scholarships given out by firms that require the winner to commit to working at the firm their first summer. Is this generally a good idea?

Thanks in advance.

finaidadvisor29

New

Re: Outside scholarships

Post by finaidadvisor29 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:20 pm

I'm not really sure what you mean by 'outside scholarships' but I'm assuming ones that can be awarded to anyone regardless of what school you go to?

There are actually scholarship lists that can be found pretty much anywhere online.

Discusawards.com has quite a few - my best friend actually ended up winning the Big Dig Scholarship (she was a high school senior, so she wasn't obviously part of any college program yet).

With that said, I would look at scholarships that don't require you to be in College yet, as obviously they won't care what college you go to if you're not in college yet, so applying for scholarships aimed at high school students, seniors, juniors, etc - will fit the bill and are actually much easier to win.

While most schools have private scholarships, they tend to be harder to win, even though there are less applicants - at least that's what I've found to be the case.