Is this wise? Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
danitt

Gold

Is this wise?

Post by danitt » Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:39 pm

I'm an prospective JD student but I'm also an international student so I don't have the same financial access as others. I managed to have no debt from undergrad and a little bit of savings (I say little because what's substantial in my home country is killed by the conversion rate here), but nothing to write home about so I definitely won't be able to finance my education that way.

My question is, if worst comes to worst and I have to pay sticker for a T-20 school, considering that this will be my first student loan debt, would you advise pursuing a loan to cover my expenses? Or would that be a fool's mission?

howlery

Bronze

Re: Is this wise?

Post by howlery » Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:37 pm

I think most law students in the U.S. take out loans to cover tuition and/or living expenses. How much you should take out really depends on what school you attend, and you should really try to keep your debt to a minimum.

Also not sure if you qualify for need-based aid at all schools, someone correct me.

FiliusNullius

New

Post by FiliusNullius » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:29 pm

what school would you NOT qualify for it?

-Most don't live in Daddy's basement. (some do) but they tend to still be breastfed too........ :roll:

Addy

New

Post by Addy » Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:17 pm

danitt wrote:My question is, if worst comes to worst and I have to pay sticker for a T-20 school, considering that this will be my first student loan debt, would you advise pursuing a loan to cover my expenses? Or would that be a fool's mission?