Paying down debt while in law school...

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
firecracker10

Paying down debt while in law school...

Postby firecracker10 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:44 am

I have around $15K in credit card debt and I probably won't be able to pay it off before I start law school in Fall 2012. I can't wait and postponed law school either...I am a non-trad student in my 30's. I need to figure out some way to pay it off while I'm in school. I know that a lot of student take out extra student loan money to pay off their debts with...I won't have that luxury, because I will need the extra funds for my living expenses (I won't be working while in school full-time). I have good credit...do you think that I will be able to take out a private educational loan from a credit card company and use that to pay it off instead? Any ideas that you have are welcome!

descartesb4thehorse

Re: Paying down debt while in law school...

Postby descartesb4thehorse » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:11 am

So, you can't have 15k worth of debt with realistic plans about how to get out of it, yet you're about to go 150k more in debt? Law school isn't for everyone, friend.

firecracker10

Postby firecracker10 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:30 am

I will (more than likely) attend a top school and then I will worry about the rest of my debt after graduation.

descartesb4thehorse

Postby descartesb4thehorse » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:42 pm