Full-time vs. part-time Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
tinydancer

New

Full-time vs. part-time

Post by tinydancer » Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:22 pm

I'm new to this forum, so my apologies if these questions have been answered elsewhere.

I have been working full time since I graduated UG in January 2010. I fully support myself living in New York City. I am hoping to begin law school next fall or fall 2013. I have some money saved, but nothing substantial.

In addition to grappling with the pros and cons of attending part-time law school over full-time, I don't know what would be best financially as well. I could move back into my parents home in NJ and attend a full-time school, though I would need loans to pay for school entirely. However, I would much rather attend school in another city, preferably at UCLA. Would it be dumb to attend law school full time and pay for rent, bills, etc., when I will be relying entirely on loans?

I could stay at my job and attend part-time in NYC, but the added year seems to off-set what I'd be earning while attending school.

If anyone has any advice or suggestions, I'd greatly appreciate it.

bk1

Diamond

Re: Full-time vs. part-time

Post by bk1 » Sat Jul 23, 2011 4:26 pm

There are too many variables at play here so I'll try to give a run down: