Post 9/11 gi bill 2.0 Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
jorgepesok

New

Post 9/11 gi bill 2.0

Post by jorgepesok » Fri May 06, 2011 1:11 pm

Last edited by jorgepesok on Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

tittsburghfeelers

Bronze

Re: Post 9/11 gi bill 2.0

Post by tittsburghfeelers » Mon May 09, 2011 2:05 pm

jorgepesok wrote:I will be attending the University of Minnesota Law School. I am a veteran collecting the Post 9/11 gi bill at a rate of 60%. I was wondering how the new stipulation in the Post 9/11 gi bill 2.0 will effect me.

(The Post 9/11 GI bill will now pay all public in-state tuition, including graduate school. It will pay up to $17,500 per year for private school tuition. (Effective 8/1/2011)

Does that mean that that I no longer have to worry about tuition costs?
You're severely misguided. The gi bill 2.0 is in response to budget cuts by Obama, meaning that parts of the gi bill have been reduced. As a Minnesota resident, you can get up to $450 per credit hour. At 60%, you're eligible for $270 per credit hour. I'm not going to do much more research for you, but I'll assume that $270 per credit hour is much less than the tuition for UM, even if you have in-state tuition. Interestingly enough, according to the link that I've provided for you, Minnesota covers a TON of fees, not covered by many other states. But still, yes you do have to worry about tuition costs and you really need to do more research into this.

http://www.army-portal.com/benefits/gib ... esota.html

jorgepesok

New

Post by jorgepesok » Mon May 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Last edited by jorgepesok on Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

tittsburghfeelers

Bronze

Post by tittsburghfeelers » Tue May 10, 2011 9:24 am