FAFSA Help!

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
hokie

FAFSA Help!

Postby hokie » Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:54 am

So I am fairly new to the FAFSA process and have a few questions:

1) Although I am completely independent and file my own taxes, my dad could technically claim me as a dependent when I enter law school (under 25+grad student, etc). When choosing which parent's info I should put it (my parents are separated), do I have to put my dad's or just put my mom's (which would be x1000 easier because she doesn't work)?

2) Long story short, I am "holding" a sizable sum of money for an immediate family member who has closed all of their bank accounts because they are out of the country doing mission work. I currently possess this money in my savings account so I am afraid that it will considerable hurt my chances for grants and loans (the sum is in between 40-70K but I myself am a average poor working man). Any thoughts on whether it will drastically hurt my chances and what I should do or am I SOL?

3) Lastly, I am in the process of filing my taxes but have not completed them and for the life of me I cannot find any information on how to figure out how much "income tax" I have (it referenced line 35 on 1040A and I cannot go off of my 2009 tax figures as my income was drastically different in 2010). As my luck goes, my friend (who is doing my taxes) is currently on vacation with no cellphone and will not return for another week. Any thoughts?

Thank you all in advance for your help!

Eugenie Danglars

Re: FAFSA Help!

Postby Eugenie Danglars » Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:14 am