FAFSA/Aid Question for a total noob, please help! Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
Neo

Bronze

FAFSA/Aid Question for a total noob, please help!

Post by Neo » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:19 am

Hey everyone,

So I have absolutely no experience whatsoever with FAFSA; however, since I am applying to law school I need to receive financial aid. I am applying this current cycle and wanted to get in my information as soon as possible. Do I wait until the next FAFSA is released January 1, 2011? OR do I fill out the current one? Basically, what do I need to do in order to get financial aid for law school if I am applying this cycle? Thanks in advance for the help!

law_noob

New

Re: FAFSA/Aid Question for a total noob, please help!

Post by law_noob » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:31 am

pretty sure you have to wait til jan. and you have to have it filled out before some date march. but i am a noob as well, I just remember that the FASFA site walked me through everything and it was super easy. Go on the site and see if you can start filling it out, if there is an option for the 2011-2012 school year offered. If there is not that option, you gotta do it in jan. Also, if you have a job, you have to fill out your tax return before your fasfa if memory serves me right.

G/L

Bumi

Silver

Post by Bumi » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:45 am

My understanding is: you get your W-2, then you do your tax return, then you fill out the FAFSA. All in January. But I am equally n00bish as everyone else in this thread.

JDeterminedF

New

Post by JDeterminedF » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:47 am

You may be able to get a head start with your last paystubs of the year. But nonetheless, you're gonna have to wait til that time.

Neo

Bronze

Post by Neo » Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:15 pm