law school choices with $87k undergrad debt

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
tilapiahollandaise

law school choices with $87k undergrad debt

Postby tilapiahollandaise » Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:44 am

Right now I'm three semesters from graduation and I estimate my debt upon graduation to be around 85-90k. I don't know what law schools I would apply to, because with my projected numbers it's unlikely that I'll get into anything higher than Emory; my range is effectively 25-60--I have no idea what "tier" that falls into. I was looking at UIUC, but they upped their GPA median to 3.8 according to this site.

I'm a Texas resident, so the practical choice seems like University of Houston. It's cheap to live in (which is great for paying off loans), and they award good amounts of money. I'm also not against practicing law in Houston, which seems to be the logical choice.

What are my options here?

P.S. Having read a lot of posts like this one, the response I predict is "reconsider if you want to go to law school." Already have; I do. I'm a philosophy major, and I'm not exactly going to pay off $90k in debt by going to a philosophy firm. I've structured my course selection around the idea of "being a lawyer" since my freshman year. (This, as you would expect, is related to the debt. High school seniors should not have access to biglaw market salary numbers. >_>)

General Tso

Re: law school choices with $87k undergrad debt

Postby General Tso » Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:48 am