Would making $8,700 a year hurt my chances of getting loans?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
MSachmorov

Would making $8,700 a year hurt my chances of getting loans?

Postby MSachmorov » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:09 pm

Hey everyone,
I have a question regarding loans. I am a TOTAL noob when it comes to financial aid so please go easy on me! Would having a part time job making about $8,700 a year influence my ability to get need based loans or, for that matter, any loans at all (including need based grants)? In other words, would I get less funding either from an institution or the government if I had this income? On a similar note, could it help? Would making that much show that I need a lot of money?

My first reaction is that having this income could actually hurt me but I know nothing about this so I figured I would ask. I really need some answers on this so I appreciate any and all comments/advice/help! Thanks in advance!
Last edited by MSachmorov on Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

D. H2Oman

Re: Would making $8,700 a year hurt my chances of getting loans?

Postby D. H2Oman » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:11 pm

It won't hurt your ability to get loans.

MSachmorov

Postby MSachmorov » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:14 pm

Really? So people who make no income don't get any more money than people who make some money?
-Sorry to be a nuisance. I just know nothing at all about this so I just want to be sure. Thanks for the response!

twert

Postby twert » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:15 pm

MSachmorov wrote:Really? So people who make no income don't get any more money than people who make some money?
-Sorry to be a nuisance. I just know nothing at all about this so I just want to be sure. Thanks for the response!

i think it starts to matter around 16k. i'm not positive.

D. H2Oman

Postby D. H2Oman » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:17 pm