LRAP at Columbia and NYU

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
NY88

LRAP at Columbia and NYU

Postby NY88 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:03 am

What is the most amount of loans one can get under LRAP? Is it the complete cost of 3 years of law school? Or are there caps?
According to what I am reading it looks like all is forgiven at Columbia after you work 5 years at PI..is this correct or am I missing something?

frankjones

Re: LRAP at Columbia and NYU

Postby frankjones » Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:08 am

Wondering the same thing...

badfish

Postby badfish » Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:17 am

Preface : This is a very basic overview of the NYU LRAP system as I understand it. Although I am an NYU public interest student it is possible that this isn't all 100% accurate, but I am confident that for the most part this is how the system works.

For NYU at least there is a cap on how much you can make in a given year and still be eligible for the LRAP however the cap is more than manageable if you make under the cap for 10 years while working in a p.i. position they will cover your cost of attendance (meaning loans, rent, food ... everything).

NYU's LRAP basically works like a 10 year repayment plan. For each year you work in a P.I. position NYU pays down your debt.

Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
-----
Year 4
-----
Year 5
-----
Year 6
-----
Year 7
-----
Year 8
-----
Year 9
-----
Year 10
-----

** After year 3 all of the loans paid by NYU before year 3 are forgiven and if you want you can move onto a different position without being penalized. If you move onto a for profit position or a position where you make more money than the cap allows before year 3 you have to pay back all of your loans.