Am I actually supposed to graduate with $150k debt?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
blackmun47

Am I actually supposed to graduate with $150k debt?

Postby blackmun47 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:57 am

This may be a dumb question... I graduated with $0 debt from undergrad so I've never had to go through any student financial aid process before.

I do have some small scholarship offers at a few schools (nothing that goes beyond half tuition). A couple of schools that I really want to go to will likely be costing sticker.... which means, more or less, $40 - $50k per year in loans.

Does anyone actually take out three full years of loans to cover law school? Is it actually worth it? I'm looking at schools with a strong regional reputation (santa clara, lewis&clark, villanova, etc), so nothing like T14.

I just don't know if anyone does this, and don't want to put myself in the position where I made a dumb decision by over-leveraging myself and be the only person in law school who has $150k in debt upon graduation.
(Of course, everyone who posts on this forum expects to be in the top 10% of their class and join biglaw and make six figures per year after graduation...... and while that is my goal as well, I'm also being a little realistic about what type of school I'm going to and realizing that 90% of students aren't in the top 10% of the class)

Advice??

phoenix323

Re: Am I actually supposed to graduate with $150k debt?

Postby phoenix323 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:07 am

I am also curious about this. Is it possible to get scholarships for 2L and 3L if one does very well their first year?

OneKnight

Postby OneKnight » Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:08 am

blackmun47 wrote:This may be a dumb question... I graduated with $0 debt from undergrad so I've never had to go through any student financial aid process before.