can't take private loans...what do i do?

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
MapleM

can't take private loans...what do i do?

Postby MapleM » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:14 pm

My problem is that even if I am eligible for the maximum amount of the stafford and the perkins, both subsized and unsubsized, they won't fully cover my tuition, which is about 39,000 for 2010-2011...

My EFC is 6490.
I have no credit (also no debt), which means I cannot take private loans out.

My husband has an excellent credit score, but he doesn't want to be a cosigner for my loans because he doesn't want to risk his credit and I understand that. I need his credit to stay excellent for our future.
I am a permanent resident with a citizenship from an asian country.
my family won't help me financially either.

Does anyone know what my options are??

Geist13

Re: can't take private loans...what do i do?

Postby Geist13 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:19 pm

Google "Grad Plus Loan." It's a federal loan that goes beyond the stafford loans, which don't even cover tuition. There is no limit for grad plus. Don't worry, it will all be taken care of (by borrowing absurd amount of money). Stafford and Perkins doesn't cover anyone's tuition, except those with scholarships or in state.

AsylumPB

Postby AsylumPB » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:21 pm

I don't see a lot of options for you without using your husband as a co-applicant. One option would maybe be to take a year off and save every penny you can to use towards tuition. Another option (I don't know how feasible this would be for you) is to attend part-time and work part-time to pay for the tuition difference that way. Unless you plan on defaulting on your student loan debt, I see no reason why your husband isn't willing to sign as well.

anmo

Postby anmo » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:22 pm