Father, Husband, Law School. Advise Please.

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
bygbr

Father, Husband, Law School. Advise Please.

Postby bygbr » Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:19 pm

Hello, I was curious if any of you could help me with some advise.

I am a Police Officer in Southern California and I would like to go to Law School full time. I am married with two young children and my wife does not work. I did my undergraduate schooling fulltime while working fulltime and it was very taxing on my family. I don't think that i could handle 4 years of part time Law School while working full time. Ultimately, I would like to stop working full time and devote my time to Law School.

Assets: I have $75,000 in stocks/savings. I have a few months left of my chapter 30 GI bill and qualify for one year at 80% on the Post 9/11 GI Bill (i separated the military in December of 2003). When I leave employment with my Police department I will get about $10k more in cashing out vacation and comp time banks.

I would like to look at the two year SCALE program at South Western University to get back into the job market as soon as possible. Health insurance/car payments/car insurance/rent etc.. will be draining my bank account and my wife has no education or experience. At most she may be able to get a minimum wage/part time job, though child care would cost more than she would make.

Anyway, can anyone share their expertise in how I may be able to fund my Law School or get government assistance? How much money could I expect to get from student loans?

Thanks for you help, it is much appreciated.

yeff

Re: Father, Husband, Law School. Advise Please.

Postby yeff » Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:12 am

bygbr wrote:Anyway, can anyone share their expertise in how I may be able to fund my Law School or get government assistance? How much money could I expect to get from student loans?