Gap in resume Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Barack Obama 2.0

New

Gap in resume

Post by Barack Obama 2.0 » Mon May 30, 2016 5:31 pm

Hi guys, I graduated from university in May 2015 and spent the past year travelling and consequently, there is a gap in my resume, will this adversely affect my chances for law school admissions? I plan on applying for law school in the fall and have a job for this upcoming year starting in September. I recently got back from overseas and am currently studying for the LSAT. On the advice of a friend, I took the June 2007 LSAT before I started prepping to gauge any areas of potential weakness/strength and scored a 163, however, I'm aiming for a 180. I intend on writing in September. I plan on applying to all the T-14 schools but really want HYS.

Stats:
URM (AA male)
LSDAS GPA: 4.0+
Softs: some work and several ECs during UG, several scholarships, and other academic related awards
LSAT: TBD
Interesting and eclectic resume.

Barack O'Drama

Gold

Re: Gap in resume

Post by Barack O'Drama » Mon May 30, 2016 5:48 pm

I think you'll be alright man, just be prepared to have an explanation if asked. It could even be something mentioned in your personal statement. I don't think it will be much of a problem as far as applications. I am not sure how this would effect OCI, but as long as you have some internships and WE you should be just fine.