Gap in resume

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
Barack Obama 2.0

Gap in resume

Postby Barack Obama 2.0 » Mon May 30, 2016 5:31 pm

Hi guys, I graduated from university in May 2015 and spent the past year travelling and consequently, there is a gap in my resume, will this adversely affect my chances for law school admissions? I plan on applying for law school in the fall and have a job for this upcoming year starting in September. I recently got back from overseas and am currently studying for the LSAT. On the advice of a friend, I took the June 2007 LSAT before I started prepping to gauge any areas of potential weakness/strength and scored a 163, however, I'm aiming for a 180. I intend on writing in September. I plan on applying to all the T-14 schools but really want HYS.

Stats:
URM (AA male)
LSDAS GPA: 4.0+
Softs: some work and several ECs during UG, several scholarships, and other academic related awards
LSAT: TBD
Interesting and eclectic resume.

Barack O'Drama

Re: Gap in resume

Postby Barack O'Drama » Mon May 30, 2016 5:48 pm

I think you'll be alright man, just be prepared to have an explanation if asked. It could even be something mentioned in your personal statement. I don't think it will be much of a problem as far as applications. I am not sure how this would effect OCI, but as long as you have some internships and WE you should be just fine.

Congrats on the GPA. I had a 4.0 and LSAC screwed me to a 3.92, but hey, could be worse. But still jealous of your 4.0 :D

Also, thats a very nice diagnostic! With a little under 4 months of studying you should be able to get that to a 170.

Have you purchased any prep materials yet? If not, I just started and have had a really good experience with the LSAT Trainer so far. I also got the PS Bible Set, too.