Hispanic URM...do related courses matter?

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
Broncos15

Hispanic URM...do related courses matter?

Postby Broncos15 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:15 pm

Hello,

I was curious .....would i be impacted in a negative way from any URM boost if I am struggling in a Spanish course in UG?

I was born and raised here but my mother is Hispanic. Because of the influence i have had Spanish spoken around the home and was exposed to it....but not so much the grammatical nuances in a course. I feel having this influence helped me test out of Spanish 1 and 2 at my UG institution since I got the credits without prior studying..., but then in Spanish 3 I felt totally unprepared since the teacher gave us exercise problems without teaching or giving an explanation to the correct answers

Now I am in Spanish 4 ( the most advanced one needed for my graduation) ....and struggling since this is my first time getting formal teaching in a Spanish course in 5 years.

From a URM perspective: would struggling in this course and getting a B/C hurt me anymore than getting a B or C in a History course for example

itascot1992

Re: Hispanic URM...do related courses matter?

Postby itascot1992 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:18 pm

Broncos15 wrote:Hello,

I was curious .....would i be impacted in a negative way from any URM boost if I am struggling in a Spanish course in UG?

I was born and raised here but my mother is Hispanic. Because of the influence i have had Spanish spoken around the home and was exposed to it....but not so much the grammatical nuances in a course. I feel having this influence helped me test out of Spanish 1 and 2 at my UG institution since I got the credits without prior studying..., but then in Spanish 3 I felt totally unprepared since the teacher gave us exercise problems without teaching or giving an explanation to the correct answers