At a Crossroads: February vs. June

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)

Which date do you recommend?

February
No votes
June
100%

Total votes: 9

kjsmit02

At a Crossroads: February vs. June

Postby kjsmit02 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:53 am

I could really use some advice right now, especially as the February date is right around the corner. I am a recently graduated (May 2013) student from a top 60 university. I graduated with a 3.42 cumulative GPA and majored in political science. To be honest, I'm kind of in a quarter-life crisis. I am currently working part-time and have been unable to obtain full-time employment. It's because of this I feel like I need to get the ball rolling and go back to school, especially since the job market seems to remain stagnant. That, and I'm tired of living with my mom haha. I took the December LSAT and just didn't feel comfortable with my performance, so I canceled it. To be honest I probably wouldn't have taken it in December to begin with if it were not for the pressure my family has been putting on me to take it. Nonetheless, I am feeling this pressure once again to take the February test and start sending the applications that I have done up to this point. The problem is that I never really went hard after the December test, and realize that I need to get serious if I want any chance to excel on February. I am thinking of clearing my entire schedule until February and treating it as a full-time job, 9-5 studying until the test date. On the other hand, I'm also debating whether I should just wait until June and apply next cycle. I have a real problem with waiting another entire year, but I know my chances would be better with an earlier application entry. If I waited until June, I would enter as a 24 year old in fall 2015, which was to my surprise older than the class averages at a few reputable schools (does this really matter?). Either way, I'm tired of sitting on my hands. Also, I'm seeking acceptance into a top 30 school, a