URM Information Specific to Native Americans Requested

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
jace8819

URM Information Specific to Native Americans Requested

Postby jace8819 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:30 pm

Hello,

This is my first time posting, so I hope this is not something that has already been answered a million times before and I simply did not see it. If so, I apologize, I promise I did try to do some digging before posting.

I have just received my first LSAT results and have begun the process of studying to re-take the LSAT in December but am beginning my applications now. I have read articles in the past that have stated that statistics of Native American admission and graduation rates from law schools have been dubious at best in the past due to the "One Drop" phenonemon (wherein an applicant that does not have a tribal ID number and is therefore not, legally speaking at least, Native American, self-identifies as Native American because he/she heard once that he/she might have had one drop of tribal blood somewhere in his/her lineage). Consequently, many of these sources have claimed that schools have restricted scholarship resources and watered down the URM credibility of Native American applicants unless these applicants have also submitted Diversity Statements providing their tribal affiliation and ID number's. I do not know if these claims are factual, however, I have noticed that many of the applications have been asking specifically for tribal ID number's and tribal affiliation. So, now that this overly exhaustive background information is done, my first question is this: Since I have provided a tribal identification number on these applications, is it still necessary to submit a Diversity Statement?