URM, great TOEFL and GPA - Low LSAT score

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
camilaval

URM, great TOEFL and GPA - Low LSAT score

Postby camilaval » Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:46 pm

Hi all

I took the LSAT on June and got 162 points, not bad for someone whose 1st language isn't English, but not that great for top law schools.

I don't have a US GPA but I got 6.57 on a scale from 1 to 7 and ranked top 1% of my 300 people class. My TOEFL score is 115.

My major is law (law is an undergradute program in Chile) and I attended the most prestigious Law School in the country.

I am an URM since I fiit into the Hispanic/Latino category.

I have volunteered providing legal help for low income people, did an internship for a top tier law firm, was a Teacher Assistant for commercial law and have worked translating 2 books from English to Spanish (one about antitrust law and one about civil procedure).

Do you think a T14 school will accept me? Do you think a Tier 1 school will give me a scholarship? I know it's asking for a lot but it would be encouraging to hear from someone with similar antecedents and sucessful experiences :)

Thank you very much for your advice. I don't know anyone on my situation so I am lost.
Last edited by camilaval on Sun Aug 18, 2013 1:14 pm, edited 5 times in total.

cinephile

Re: South American girl looking for advice

Postby cinephile » Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:50 pm