Does HYS make sense for me? AA Male

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
mt2165

Does HYS make sense for me? AA Male

Postby mt2165 » Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:44 pm

Hey yall, so basically I am a AA Male Student athlete graduating from Binghamton University next year. I have a 3.62 GPA that I am planning to get closer to 3.7 before I apply during the next cycle (probably around the first week of January). I am registered for the october lsat and have been preptesting pretty well, usually around the high 160's. I want to end up doing government work, getting into politics, or plaintiff side work. Obviously this doesn't bar biglaw, if that's advantageous to my end goals (??). But basically I want to know does it really make sense to choose a HYS over a CCN considering I want to do, specifically as a AA male? Also assuming that I would qualify for substantial scholarships from the latter. I know that HYS tend to have some of the best LRAPs but surely this doesn't offset tens of thousands? Why would anyone high scoring high achieving who doesn't have astronomical goals choose HYS at the assumption of significantly more debt? Thanks in advance.

californiauser

Re: Does HYS make sense for me? AA Male

Postby californiauser » Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:18 am

Come back when you have an LSAT score + acceptances in hand.

twenty

Postby twenty » Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:52 am

I know that HYS tend to have some of the best LRAPs

Definitely not automatically true.

And yeah, come back with an LSAT and also acceptances.

mt2165

Postby mt2165 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:29 pm

Alright, I understand I am speaking hypothetically, which seems to be pretty commonplace here. But just for you guys sake, let me rephrase the question. Why would someone likely to receive substantial aid at a top 6-10 elect HYS with the assumption of more debt? What goals would you have to have in order to justify this choice?

twenty

Postby twenty » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:39 pm