Disclosing invisible disability on diversity statement? Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
brosephina

New

Disclosing invisible disability on diversity statement?

Post by brosephina » Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:21 am

Hi all,

I'm new to TLS and am applying for a September 2014 start date. I'm hoping to get into a school with national reach and a good public interest loan repayment program. I know I'm at a disadvantage with my numbers for this range of schools, so I want to make sure I'm doing everything I can in the application process to make myself as appealing as possible.

My question: is it ever to one's advantage to disclose a stigmatized mental health condition or invisible disability in one's application? (I've read some related posts on here already, but felt that my situation was slightly different, and so wanted to make my own.)

Stats:
-Graduated from an Ivy League a few years ago with a 3.76
-June 2013 LSAT: 165 (planning on taking it again and sure I can do much better; a stressful spring, including sickness and a death in the family, prevented me from focusing my study, and I had serious timing issues during the test)
-White, queer, mental health/invisible disability (more below)
- (what I think are) good softs: I speak Spanish and Portuguese, did lots of music, politics and writing-focused extracurrics in college, extensive public interest work, including direct advocacy, and diverse work history, including teaching abroad)